The Bone Witch (Paperback)

Store Suspended

Hi!  While BMLP is searching for a new home, we are suspending online shopping through this online storefront. However, you can still support BMLP with online shopping through our Bookshop.org page (click here to be redirected)! You can find the books you want and have them shipped directly to your home. A percentage of each purchase is donated to BMLP and will help us as we transition into our next phase.

We will continue to work to get books into the hands of under-resourced students despite the physical store closing so your contributions continue to make an impact in the lives of children.

Thank you for your continued support of BMLP and the mission to get books into the hands of all children.

With love,

The ManaTeam

The Bone Witch Cover Image
$10.99
In Stock at Our Warehouse. Ships in 2-5 days.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Bone Witch series.

Description


"A high-fantasy Memoirs of a Geisha, Chupeco's latest excels in originality" Kirkus Reviews

A story of scorned witches, sinister curses, and resurrection, The Bone Witch is the start of a dark fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Serpent & Dove and The Cruel Prince.

Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother, Fox, from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha—one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles...and make a powerful choice.

Riveting and atmospheric, The Bone Witch is perfect for readers looking for

  • witch novels for adults and teens
  • stories with diverse representation and multicultural influences
  • dark fantasy YA books and series
  • original worldbuilding and captivating writing

Praise for The Bone Witch:

"A fantasy lover's fantasy" —Foreword Reviews

"Mesmerizing. Chupeco (The Suffering) does a magnificent job of balancing an intimate narrative perspective with sweeping worldbuilding, crafting her tale within a multicultural melting pot of influences as she presses toward a powerful cliffhanger."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review

"Chupeco delights us with a fascinating world and a rich atmosphere for a story that is exceptionally written from beginning to end."—Buzzfeed

"Readers who enjoy immersing themselves in detail will revel in Chupeco's finely wrought tale. Game of Thrones fans may see shades of Daenerys Targaryen in Tea, as she gathers a daeva army to unleash upon the world. Whether she is in the right remains a question unanswered, but the ending makes it clear her story is only beginning." —Booklist

The Bone Witch Trilogy:

The Bone Witch (Book 1)

The Heart Forger (Book 2)

The Shadowglass (Book 3)

About the Author


Despite uncanny resemblances to Japanese revenants, Rin Chupeco has always maintained their sense of humor. Raised in Manila, Philippines, they keep four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband. They've been a technical writer and a travel blogger but now make things up for a living. They are the author of The Girl from the Well, The Suffering, The Bone Witch trilogy, and the A Hundred Names for Magic trilogy. Connect with Rin at rinchupeco.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781492652786
ISBN-10: 1492652784
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: February 1st, 2018
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: The Bone Witch