Winterwood (Paperback)

Store Suspended

Hi!  While BMLP is searching for a new home, we are suspending online shopping through this online storefront. However, you can still support BMLP with online shopping through our Bookshop.org page (click here to be redirected)! You can find the books you want and have them shipped directly to your home. A percentage of each purchase is donated to BMLP and will help us as we transition into our next phase.

We will continue to work to get books into the hands of under-resourced students despite the physical store closing so your contributions continue to make an impact in the lives of children.

Thank you for your continued support of BMLP and the mission to get books into the hands of all children.

With love,

The ManaTeam

Winterwood Cover Image
$11.99
In Stock at Our Warehouse. Ships in 2-5 days.

Winter 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“In this spine-tingling young adult novel, Nora Walker is the last in a long line of witches but has never found her magic. She lives a quiet life across the lake from a camp for wayward boys. With the arrival of each full moon (and only at the full moon), she ventures into the darkest, most dangerous part of the woods, where she finds lost things. This time, the lost thing she finds is a boy. Very atmospheric and full of surprises.”
— Lisa Wright, Oblong Books and Music, Millerton, NY

Description


“Spellbinding.” —Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Caraval series
“A delectably immersive, eerie experience.” —Kirkus Reviews

From New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods—and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.

Be careful of the dark, dark wood…

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman—the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago—and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.

Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own—secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times bestselling author Shea Ernshaw shows us why.

About the Author


Shea Ernshaw is the author of A History of Wild Places, the New York Times bestseller The Wicked Deep, Winterwood, and A Wilderness of Stars. She is the winner of the 2019 Oregon Book Award. She lives in a small mountain town in Oregon and is happiest when lost in a good book, lost in the woods, or writing her next novel.

Praise For…


"A spellbinding tale of witchery, deadly secrets, and woods that hold grudges. Winterwood is immersive, atmospheric, and bewitching --Stephanie Garber #1 New York Times & international bestselling author of the Caraval series.

"Winterwood casts a deliciously dark spell with a rich lineage of witches, secretive boys, and a sinister forest that will pull in any reader and never let them go." -- Megan Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of Grim Lovelies

“The beauty and mystery of the natural world infuse every moment in this lush, spellbinding story that weaves romance with witchcraft—a seductive, lyrical tale of lost boys, old legends and haunted woods.” –Lexa Hillyer, author of Spindle Fire

"A delectably immersive, eerie experience." -- Kirkus 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781534439429
ISBN-10: 1534439420
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: November 17th, 2020
Pages: 352
Language: English