Favorite Picture Books

Jill's Top Picks for Picture Books.

A list of favorite picture books selected by Jill, the BMLP Content & Logistics, Manager. 

Daniel's Good Day Cover Image
By Micha Archer, Micha Archer (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399546723
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - May 14th, 2019

Daniel finds the poetry in the everyday activities of his own neighborhood, in this gorgeous companion to Ezra Jack Keats Award winner Daniel Finds a Poem.


Mr. Pumpkin's Tea Party Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781936669776
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: blue manatee press - September 3rd, 2019

“There’s a party at Mr. Pumpkin’s tonight. A banquet with friends in the autumn twilight. And at this soiree we’ll see and we’ll find ghoulish delights of every kind.” You are cordially invited to Mr.


Hair Love Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525553366
Availability: Backordered
Published: Kokila - May 14th, 2019

"I love that Hair Love is highlighting the relationship between a Black father and daughter. Matthew leads the ranks of new creatives who are telling unique stories of the Black experience. We need this."
     - Jordan Peele, Actor & Filmmaker


Littles: And How They Grow Cover Image
By Kelly DiPucchio, AG Ford (Illustrator)
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780399555268
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Doubleday Books for Young Readers - June 13th, 2017

In the beloved tradition of Robert Munsch’s Love You Forever and Emily Winfield Martin’s The Wonderful Things You Will Be comes a beautiful rhyming ode to babies from a New York Times bestselling author/illustrator duo—perfect for baby showers, first birthdays, and anytime babies are celebrated.
 


Pokko and the Drum Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481480390
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 1st, 2019

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2019
A Today Show Best Book of the Year
A Booklist Book for Youth EditorsChoice 2019
A Boston Globe–Horn Picture Book Honor Book 2020
An NPR Favorite Book of 2019
A Quill & Quire 2019 Book for Young People of the Year
“Extraordinary.&rd


Rainbow: A First Book of Pride Cover Image
By Michael Genhart, Anne Passchier (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781433830877
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Magination Press - May 7th, 2019

A must-have primer for young readers and a great gift for pride events and throughout the year, beautiful colors all together make a rainbow in Rainbow: A First Book of Pride. This is a sweet ode to rainbow families, and an affirming display of a parent's love for their child and a child's love for their parents.


Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781626727465
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - October 22nd, 2019

Winner of the 2020 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal
A 2020 American Indian Youth Literature Picture Book Honor Winner

“A wonderful and sweet book . . . Lovely stuff.” —The New York Times Book Review


My Best Friend Is a Unicorn: A Lift-the-Flap Book Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780593093634
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 4th, 2019

A magical lift-the-flap board book about a little girl and her unicorn BFF!

Join a little girl and her unicorn BFF for a day filled with magic and fun. The unicorn chases the rain away, makes the girl's sick teddy bear feel better, and turns reading into a truly magical experience, as words fly off the page. Having a unicorn BFF has never been better!


Saturday Cover Image
By Oge Mora (By (artist))
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316431279
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 22nd, 2019

In this warm and tender story by the Caldecott Honor-winning creator of Thank You, Omu!, join a mother and daughter on an up-and-down journey that reminds them of what's best about Saturdays: precious time together.

Today would be special. Today would be splendid. It was Saturday! But sometimes, the best plans don't work out exactly the way you expect....


Who Wet My Pants? Cover Image
By Bob Shea, Zachariah OHora (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316525213
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 17th, 2019

In this hilarious tale of blame, compassion, and forgiveness, a very embarrassed bear is reminded that accidents can happen--but with the support of good friends, life goes on.


A Stone Sat Still Cover Image
By Brendan Wenzel (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781452173184
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books - August 27th, 2019

The brilliant follow-up to the Caldecott Honor-winning and New York Times bestselling picture book They All Saw a Cat by Brendan Wenzel!

A Stone Sat Still tells the story of a seemingly ordinary rock—but to the animals that use it, it is a resting place, a kitchen, a safe haven...even an entire world.


Llama Destroys the World (A Llama Book #1) Cover Image
By Jonathan Stutzman, Heather Fox (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250303172
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 7th, 2019

Meet Llama, the next great picture-book megastar, who has most definitely driven a bus and who loves tacos way more than you.

He also loves cake, and that’s where our story begins.

On Monday, Llama discovers a pile of cake, which he promptly eats.
On Tuesday, Llama squeezes into his dancing pants, which he promptly rips.


"Readers will root for bighearted, small-armed Tiny." —Publishers Weekly


How to Give Your Cat a Bath: in Five Easy Steps Cover Image
By Nicola Winstanley, John Martz (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735263543
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tundra Books - January 22nd, 2019

In this hilarious and clever "how-to," a little girl and a know-it-all narrator are thwarted by a cat who refuses to take a bath. The perfect read-aloud for fans of Snappsy the Alligator and Interrupting Chicken.

Step one: fill the bath
Step two: put the cat in the bath
Step three: put shampoo on the cat
Step four: rinse the cat
Step five: dry the cat